Allow yourself the opportunity

One of the hardest parts about reaching a goal: allowing yourself to try. I’m not talking about the give it a week or a month of slowly and ever so casually working on a goal. I don’t mean give it a week, then fall off the wagon, then two weeks later get back on the wagon. I mean give it all you have. If you want something bad enough give yourself the true opportunity to reach that thing.

I think people underestimate the true amount of time, effort, hard work, and pure determination that go into reaching a goal. I know I have, heck I still do. It’s easy to leave out the key pieces, to not go full throttle. It’s easy to quit and say “it’s just not for me” or “I’ll try again next year”. Stop limiting yourself. Stop limiting your life. Stop taking it easy when the going gets tough. Choose the hard way. Choose to create a better life. Choose to reach what it is you truly wish to reach.

587c93867001a29145503e64f4b06cc9

IT WILL BE WORTH IT.

Over the past few months I’ve been reluctant to really go after my goals. I’ve been reluctant to even set goals. I wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted or rather what I wanted to prioritize. Prioritizing the key aspects of our lives is so important in relation to setting and reaching goals because it helps us remember what we value and still need to focus on while pursuing change. Having a stable and solid foundation will hold you together and keep you in pursuit. Change is hard, I will never be one to say it’s not which is the exact reason that prioritizing your life and creating a base to grow from is so key. Another key aspect? Trusting yourself. Trusting your ability to pull through.

After a fair amount of good conversation with friends and family, an equal amount of journaling, and the help of yoga, meditation, and some decently heavy squats, I’ve prioritized my life and determined what my base consists of. The key components of my life are 1. health, 2. education, 3. work, 4. family and friends, 5. performance. At the most basic level those are the things that mean the most to me. After that is where I begin the process of creating change for my life, the goals I have set for myself if you will. I’m always the one for trying to take on the world but I’ve accepted that I can’t be the best at everything at once. I can however be the best version of myself.

I’ve found that by prioritizing and then going full throttle after my goals has allowed for me to make huge leaps and bounds forward. I’m not holding myself back out of fear. I have support from my loved ones, I’m being honest, and I’m running full speed ahead. The only way to get somewhere worth being is to go at it 100%, with a fire lit deep inside.

“Don’t be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What actions am I taking to reach my goals? What does my day to day life look like? Are my habits in line with the things I desire to achieve? First off, I’ve stopped taking no for an answer. I’m tired of people telling me to take it easy and rest. I’m tired of being told that I’m past my prime. I’m tired of hearing I’m crazy. I know what I want and trust me I will figure out a way to reach that. My daily life is “designed” in a way that will only help me progress further. I’ve been using techniques to ease stress, I’m working on time management because that alone is completely necessary to fit it all the important things, and I’m doing all I can to ensure I don’t burn out. I have a plan of attack, but I’m fluid with that plan – this way if something happens ‘off plan’, I shift my focus and re-assess rather than beginning to break apart.

What are my habits? For starters I’m currently in the best place I’ve been in over the past ten years. I’m healthy. I’m sleeping well, hydrating, nourishing my body, meditating, practicing yoga, and being mindful. I have time allotted each week for studying and school. I’m working the amount of hours required to support myself and my goals. My nutrition is where it needs to be for my performance goals. I’m being honest with my coach about how I’m feeling rather than pretending I’m ok when something is off. My sleep habits are strict as are my rest days.

I believe that if we truly take care of ourselves, anything is possible. As cliché as that may sound it’s the truth. If you really, fully, honestly want something deep at the core of your being, allow yourself the opportunity to reach that thing. Whatever it is that lights a fire deep inside of you, go after that thing. You are worth your biggest dreams. Believe that, accept that.

e2d6acbe8da911e38fe4125be5bdf6a9_8

“There are only two options regarding commitment. You’re either in or you’re out. There’s no such thing as life in-between.” – Pat Riley

2 thoughts on “Allow yourself the opportunity

Leave a Reply

