Bliss and a healthy dose of inspiration

Hi there! I’m back and it’s only been a week, this is a step in the right direction.

It’s been a good week for the most part. Full of work, yoga, lifting, some social-life activities, and much-needed sleep “catch up”. A group of co-workers and myself went out downtown to celebrate one of their birthdays, the eighth anniversary of her 29th. Don’t you just love that? Because I do. I’ll be staying around 24 forever thank you very much. I just need to get there first. We went out for dinner and drinks and then more drinks. Side note: if you’re celiac and actually want beer, Green’s makes a fairly decent one.

In other news, I’ve increased my time spent practicing yoga weekly and I feel pretty darn great. I had been sticking with 1-2 classes per week for the last year and have bumped that up to 3 classes and then spending an additional hour or so on my own with a basic flow. Both my physical body and mental clarity are benefiting from this change. With yoga there is so much variability in the poses and the practice. One day I will have a really good flow, everything feels smooth, and I’m hitting some of the more challenging poses with ease. Whereas other days I’m not focused and my body is tight/worn-out and I spend half the class in down dog or child’s pose. It’s definitely taken a considerable amount of time for me to be accepting of spending half a class in child’s pose because I’m so used to pushing myself physically and not allowing my body what it’s asking for. Each time I step on my mat it’s a whole different experience and a constant learning process which is just awesome. For me it is just as much of a practice for self-awareness and allowing myself to get in touch with my body and how it is feeling and doing, which is exactly what I need right now.

I’ve never finished up a practice on a bad note. For me, yoga helps me re-focus and energize my body. It helps me tap into a higher power. That sounds a little crazy but for any of you who regularly practice I can guarantee you know exactly what I mean by that. I ended up dropping into a class I don’t usually attend yesterday morning and I was so completely blissed out the remainder of my day it was insane.

891411_1480220052225316_271775743_nSource.

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of lifting and lifting decently heavy. I’ve been lifting weights in one form or another since I was around fourteen, so seven years. In comparison to competitive power lifter’s and olympic lifters, it’s really not that long. But, to not compare myself, it’s a third of my life which is considerable for sure. Recently I just haven’t been feeling it most days. And I’m respecting that which is totally not like me and outside of my comfort zone which is a good thing because we only grow outside of our comfort zones. Ding ding. Progress is a process and I am just telling myself that there is a reason I’m not motivated right now to lift as often and that I need to respect that and what is meant to be will be. If I’ve learned anything over the years it’s that our bodies are machines but they also need maintenance, love, and respect. They give us signals which we can either choose to ignore or listen and for once I’m listening. Soooo, in the meantime you can find me on my mat. 🙂

10369302_1426412407644862_227903363_nSource.

Let’s be honest here, we all know I’m a sucker for quotes and motivational passages (see above). Well, I recently came across a series of quotes by Rumi on Mind Body Green and absolutely needed to share! I’ve seen these time and time again, have them all down in my journal, and thought that it would be a good ending to a post. Enjoy 🙂

  1. CHALLENGE FEAR. Run from what’s comfortable. Forget safety. Live where you fear to live. Destroy your reputation. Be notorious.
  2. BE BOLD. Do not be satisfied with the stories that come before you. Unfold your own myth.
  3. HAVE GRATITUDE. Wear gratitude like a cloak and it will feed every corner of your life.
  4. TAKE ACTION. Why should I stay at the bottom of a well, when a strong rope is in my hand?
  5. HAVE FAITH. As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears.
  6. EMBRACE SETBACKS. If you are irritated by every rub, how will you be polished?
  7. LOOK INSIDE. Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.
  8. LEARN FROM SUFFERING. The wound is the place where the Light enters you.
  9. DON’T BE CONCERNED WITH WHAT OTHERS THINK. I want to sing like the birds sing, not worrying about who hears or what they think.
  10. DO WHAT YOU LOVE. Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.

-RUMI

Go out and find your happy.

5 thoughts on “Bliss and a healthy dose of inspiration

  1. GIRL I love your mentality towards your change in tastes with exercise. Rather than forcing something, you’re listening to the signals your body and mind are telling you and embracing something new! That’s so epic you’re loving yoga!! I have a feeling you’ll be doing handstands and wicked cool contortions in no time 😉

  2. So glad to see you back a little more, Sarah! I love that you’re just doing what feels right for your body and accepting it as okay, even if it’s not “normal” (what is normal anyways?!). I’m glad all is well with you!

  3. Pingback: All things training related | The Pursuit of an Outlier

  4. Pingback: Favorite things: July | The Pursuit of an Outlier

  5. Pingback: Thinking out loud: 3/11/15 | The Pursuit of an Outlier

Leave a Reply

