Favorite things: October

Hi there! Happy hump Wednesday 😉 It’s been a while since I’ve done a post of my favorite things, so I figured it was due time to catch you all up on what I’m obsessed with as of late.

First things first where did October go?!? Seriously though I can’t believe the semester is half way done, craziness I tell you. But please don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about that. I am however (slightly) complaining about the fact that snow is on its way, perhaps even this coming weekend. There is part of me that is excited about this news though. I love the cozy factor of the late fall and winter months. By that I mean scarves, having candles going all day long, and all of the coffee.

What made the list this month:

New mug which reminds me to keep on keeping on. And to not take things too seriously. After all, what happens happens and you can’t let it kill your good vibes. Yes I took a selfie of my coffee mug. Sorry not sorry.

10655127_796645327022581_673035744_n

Avalon Organics Lemon hand & body lotion. For both saving the health of my hands which seem to take a beating on the dryness factor to the extreme and smelling amazing. I’m a fan.

Brand-spankin-new lifting journal. My previous one ran out of room and I figured what better than some motivational words prior to a workout. So far it seems to be doing the trick. Hello PR’s on bench and deadlifts.

10748007_374395102726414_520071454_n

SFH tangerine fish oil. Yes it’s liquid form. Yes it’s tangerine flavor. No it doesn’t taste like crap or give you fish burps. Total win.

Via Nature “purification” essential oil blend. This stuff is the bee’s knees. It’s a blend of grapefruit oil, lemon oil, lemongrass oil, eucalyptus oil, and frankincense oil. Up until about three months ago I had never even heard of frankincense. Well let me tell you that it smells amazing. Put it in with the rest of the oils listed and you have yourself a killer mix. How I use it: ~ 15-20 drops mixed with about 1/3 cup water in a diffuser and you are good to go. I have this in my bedroom and still notice it each time I walk in.

10725138_379277318864152_1389166150_n

Lululemon’s vinyasa scarf. I bought this as an impluse/retail therapy/make myself feel good present and boy am I happy I did. You can check out lulu’s website for details but this scarf can be worn and upward of ten different ways. I mainly wear it as an infinity scarf because it keeps me warm which I totally dig. However let’s not discuss the price tag? Mmmk, thanks.

photo (1)

Foam rolling. No I am not ridiculously behind on this bandwagon, I just neglected it for a wee bit too long. When I was training for the Spartan Death Race back in 2012 I foam rolled daily and I swore by it. In recent months training though I have just been practicing yoga and calling that my primary form of mobility work. While yoga is great and beneficial for stretching and balance, it isn’t the end all be all of mobility work especially when you are lifting heavy. Over the past month or so I’ve been back to foam rolling and lax ball rolling and I’m noticing a huge difference in mobility and muscle recovery especially in my calves, glutes, and traps. AKA the three main areas of tightness for me.

Maca powder and L-glutamine in my smoothies. I’ll be discussing these two supplements in an upcoming post but for now I’ll leave it with they are doing wonders and I’m keeping them around.

Essie nail-polish. “She said yes” and “ignite the night”, worn together.

photo

Perfect food bars. Obsessed. I convinced the grocery manager at my work to get these in stock and I’m fairly certain at least 78.3% of what we sell are due to me. I’m oddly ok with this.

10729349_981679331858054_527734149_n

Philosophy ‘Pure Grace’ perfume. I needed a new scent and this one is awesome. I’m not big into fruity perfume, so this stuff does the trick for me. So fresh and clean.

I think that’s a fairly solid list. I love doing these posts because it’s a fun way to break things up and let readers get to know me a bit better aside from the more personal topics. Plus I love seeing others post their favorites which give me new ideas of things to try out!

Question: What have you been loving as of late?

7 thoughts on “Favorite things: October

  1. Ohh, I can’t wait to hear about maca! I was literally just researching it an hour ago (should have been doing homework…) and I’m thinking about buying some in capsule form! I love the nail polish, too!

    Lately I have been loving walking my dog in the crisp fall air, decorating (or thinking about it even, haha), and Starbucks Komodo Dragon ground coffee!

    • Haha there is always time for research… I find myself stray from homework every now and again to research something ha! I like the Navitas Naturals maca powder! I personally find it good mixed with chocolate protein 🙂 Mmm komodo dragon blend is a good one, that and their holiday blend which is well on its way. Ah walks with your pup must be excellent this time of year!

  2. ohhhhhhhhhhh goooooodnesssssss!!!!!!!! so much to say i don’t even know where to begin!

    1. i always take selfies of my tea mug. check IG (my last post!!!!! LOL)

    2. LOVE those nail polish colours.

    3. Will HAVE to check out that perfume. Mmmmmm. I am not a fruity person either.

    4. Love the scarf. Love all lulu. Hate the $$$$$$ but so worth it.

    5. Love L-glutamine, I use it too, but need to try maca yet. I know, I know. I’m late.

    6. Gotta get back onto foam rolling. I would benefit for sure.

    • Awh thanks for the love girl! Haha all about the sparkly nail polish, obviously. Let me know if you check out the Philosophy and what you think 🙂 Oh lululemon, casually taking all my loose change since about 2011. Try the maca and let me know whatcha think!

  3. I really want to try maca powder! I have L-glutamine pills but rarely take them. I did notice that my Recoverite protein has that in it and I think it makes a difference, I should really look into things like that and putting them in my smoothies. Can’t wait to read your post about that.

    I love your new coffee mug and lifting journal :). Makes me want to keep a paper workout log!

    • It’s tasty. At first I didn’t really like it all that much but after slowly increasing the amount I put in my smoothies I’m a fan. Glutamine is a wonder for me, but everyone is definitely different. I’ll go into more detail soon but digestive health and muscle recovery are two of my biggest things it helps! Try the maca and let me know! 🙂 What no paper workout log?! Why not?

  4. Pingback: Monthly Faves: October

Leave a Reply

