Recipe + being in love with your life

Hi there! Happy Tuesday. It’s officially late fall and feeling like winter in the 603 (NH). Cold mornings, frost on windshields, and the need for copious amounts of hot tea. Plus the fact I’ve broken out the winter jacket at work, my boss loves me.

For the first time ever I am sharing a recipe on Pursuit of an Outlier! How exciting right?! Don’t be too excited though for it’s only a smoothie recipe. Baby steps. I do however have some recipe development going on and some that I already have planned to share with you guys. I have been thinking for a while about beginning to share recipes on the blog and my final decision was yes because I want this space to be focused on healing along with pursuing your passion… because if you aren’t healthy it’s extremely difficult to live life to the fullest. And in my opinion nutrition is the foundation to healing and living a full, vibrant, thriving life. So I’m really excited to share this with you guys going forward. I do however need some help in the photography department. Or perhaps it’s just near impossible to get a halfway decent shot of a smoothie. Hello, bad lighting. Don’t hate.

10175236_273032689524267_998584677_n

My go-to powerhouse

  • 1 cup almond milk or other liquid of choice
  • handful of baby kale
  • handful of baby spinach
  • frozen banana
  • 1/2 packet acai berries
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1 tsp. maca powder
  • 1/2 tsp. L-glutamine powder

I’ll drink this combination usually 2-3 times each week. It sits well with my body and I’m a fan of the taste from the banana + maca + vanilla flavors. Give it a shot and let me know what you think 🙂 Cool? cool.

Onto balancing… balancing life and all it includes. For me that is school, work, fitness, healing, and social activities. It’s tough to fit everything in and there are days where I wish there would be 30 hours in a day rather than 24. However, let’s be honest then I’d be wishing for 35. There is never enough time and that is why it’s so essential to make the most of the time you do have each day. Sure, I could always do more but instead of doing more I’d rather live more, enjoy more, and love more. It’s the little things.

I’ve definitely talked about this some before and how it’s so important to find a schedule that works for you and allows you to get in a groove. I think another often over-looked part which is equally if not more important is to make sure you are actually doing what makes you happy. It’s so easy to get stuck going through the motions but not actually be happy. Perhaps you’re still pursuing a goal you had a couple years back but it’s not something of interest and excitement anymore. Goals change, that’s ok. It’s part of life. We are constantly evolving our interests, skill sets, and ideas. Perhaps you have a goal that for some reason isn’t being actively pursued and by not pursuing it your starving your soul from what it is you really want. Whatever the case, first things first, make sure you are happy with your life. It’s your life.

10748452_618936481544640_813864772_n source

It’s worth it. Whatever the idea is that you have in your head, pursue it. What if you are successful? What if it makes you happy and in love with every.single.second of your life? If it doesn’t… well you tried and after all it’s all about experience. TRY IT. Take a chance, or two, or three. Go out on a limb and explore new things, new boundaries, new places. You might end up finding yourself in a place you’ve only ever dreamed of being. Explore your limits. Explore your comfort zone. Say YES. And then say yes again. Listen to your soul, your body, your desires and get after them. Set up your day to day in order to reach your goals. Nobody is going to get you there except for you.

Over the past year I’ve done a lot of work around self-reflection. Countless hours journaling, exploring the hopes I have set for my life. Exploring what is holding me back and the limitations I’ve locked myself into. But locked isn’t locked. It’s simply a boundary within my comfort zone. It’s something that I’ve unlocked because I decided it was worth it to pursue what makes me thrive. I’m sick of comfort zones. I sick of not doing what I love out of fear. Fear is an unnecessary evil.

I’ve made the decision to pursue becoming a personal trainer because fitness is what makes me come alive. I love moving, being strong, and feeling like my body can take me where I need it to take me. I want to help other people feel that. I want to inspire them to be the best version of them.

I’m more focused on my education than in the past because I’m learning what I enjoy. I’m learning the things that I can stay up until the wee hours in the morning reading because I’m so interested in them, not because I have to study. Most of my course-work I don’t even think about as school because I just genuinely think it’s fascinating.

This blog makes me smile because I love being transparent about my journey through recovery, fitness, and healing. I think sharing what we go through as a means to help other people going through similar things is such an amazing opportunity. I’m also loving posting more and receiving great feedback and support. Thank you to everyone who reads my little corner of the web, you’re the best.

“She is free in her wildness, she is a wanderess, a drop of free water. She knows nothing of borders and cares nothing for rules or customs. ‘Time’ for her isn’t something to fight against. Her life flows cleans, with passion, like fresh water.” – Roman Payne

xo, S

Leave a Reply

