Back to school & other updates

Hey kids! First things first, I’m fairly certain the weather man underestimated because it seems that most of my yard contains snow piles which are taller than I am. HUH? Oh wait I live in New Hampshire. Totally and completely normal. The Subaru was not impressed.

photo 1 (9) 2015 blizzard aftermath (during-math?, this was only about half of the total snow)

In other news classes were cancelled yesterday, obviously, and well as this morning. While I won’t complain about a day off, I actually missed not going to class. That right there says I’m definitely where I’m supposed to be school and major wise. Which leads me to say that my first week at UNH is done and while I did get semi-lost my first day I seem to have a fair handle overall. This semester I am taking: general chemistry 2, psychobiology, and introduction to philosophy (discovery requirement). I LOVE my psychobiology course, which makes me smile and excited as I take on this major in neuroscience! Excited and nervous, but primarily the first of the two. I was initially going to hop right on with four courses but decided on just three because…

Besides school I am still working towards my goal of becoming a personal trainer. This past week has been a heavy study week with my NASM book and I’m totally ok with that. I am so interested in all the material, I feel as if I’m back in my anatomy & physiology and exercise physiology classes. I will be completely honest here though I’m not entirely sure how I am going to find spare time to work on getting things started once I’m certified in April, and will probably end up waiting until the summer to get things really rolling. I’ve come to realize however that life isn’t about speeding ahead and accomplishing things at the fastest rate possible, but rather putting a whole lot of effort, passion, and enjoyment into goals because things usually feel better in the end. I’m in no rush, after all I’m planning to be a student for the next ten or so years of my life. It’s all about the process, that is the journey that truly matters.

not-all-wander-are-lost 

One thing that has been on my mind is the desire to be engaged and involved with the community at school. Being at a university is SO much different than community college. There are so many more options in terms of organizations, clubs, sports, research, ect. I’ve already signed up for one group which I’ll share details once I have more – definitely going out on a limb or two with this one but in all honesty, why not? New experiences are rarely a bad thing. I know it will force me to challenge myself in ways that I have not yet done. Plus, I’ll meet new people in the process. Win win.

What else?! I mean I could tell you about the gym and how that’s going really well? But then again I have absolutely nothing more to share than that statement itself. Things are good. Life is good. I’m excited to finally get out another post on this blog. I hope you all are doing well and if you live in areas that received massive snow accumulation that you are all shoveled out 😉

 

If you’re not scared then you’re not taking a chance. If you’re not taking a chance then what the hell are you doing anyway?” – Ted Mosby

4 thoughts on “Back to school & other updates

  1. I’m glad things are going well for you, totally agree with getting involved. I was really involved in college and did a lot (student government, newspaper writer, etc) and it made a big difference in how much I enjoyed college. Definitely helps with finding jobs too, you get to network a lot!

    • Thanks lady! Yes I’m super excited to really dive right into different organizations, ect. I definitely want to explore as many research opportunities as possible as well. Were you also involved a lot in high school, or just college years? I wasn’t at all in high school.

  2. “I’ve come to realize however that life isn’t about speeding ahead and accomplishing things at the fastest rate possible, but rather putting a whole lot of effort, passion, and enjoyment into goals because things usually feel better in the end.”—> YES to that!! It’s definitely easier said than done for me, though. Ugh. But you’re right… it’s a process! I’m so happy that you’re in such a good place with being excited for school and life in general!

Leave a Reply

