Define healing

Hi buttercups 🙂 Happy Tuesday! If you’re like me and live in an area which was yet again being whammed by snow yesterday, stay warm, drive safe, and best of luck in the pursuit of finding space to actually put the new inches of white stuff. I’m not sure where to shovel the snow out of my driveway, I already am far from being able to see pulling out… the whole putting my windows down, listening, and then proceeding to floor it is working quite well so far.

I came across some new tunes over the weekend and one song in particular has been on major repeat, give it a listen while you read the rest of this post! Note: a great addition to a yoga and/or meditation playlist!

Onto healing. This is a complex topic and one that I personally view to be an extremely important part of life. I am talking about all forms of healing, whether it be from an autoimmune disease (crohn’s, rheumatoid arthritis, hashimoto’s, lupus, ect.), hormone imbalanace, functional disorder (ibs, fibromyalgia, adrenal fatigue, ect.), mental illness, and so on. Diagnosis or no diagnosis, if you don’t feel like your body is functioning to the best of its ability – change something. As Sarah often will say on her blog, “nothing changes if nothing changes”. This in my opinion, is a crucial point to understand. Without change our bodies will remain in whatever distress they might be stuck in. While the human body has many self-regulatory and self-healing mechanisms it does need support. In the most basic sense I view the primary components linked with optimal wellness to be: nutrition, stress management, restful sleep, and movement. Not so coincidentally these are all also components to healing… case dependent, some more than others.

Now I know this isn’t how everybody views things but I prefer to support my body in all possible ways rather than risking it. Am I saying I’m perfect? That I never catch the common cold? That my digestion is flawless? NO. I am saying I make conscious and informed decisions about what I’m putting into my body, supplementing with, and my day to day life.

Take responsibility for your health and overall wellbeing. You are born into this world with one body and you leave with the same one. Treat it the best you possibly can.

photo 1 (6)

For me I take a look at my symptoms and then break them down. For example, I have psoriasis. I break that down by asking myself, when do I notice it gets worse? better? It is worse when I am stressed, not sleeping enough, not hydrating properly. It shows improvement when I am hydrated, eating plenty of vegetables, strictly adhering to a schedule of helping the affected area (i.e topical treatment, I use hemp oil and coconut oil – yep both have been lifesavers). Nobody besides you can know these factors, they are things which you notice on your own whether that be by making a symptom journal or just mental notes.

A factor which I already kind-of mentioned is nutrition and supplementation. Now these are going to vary a lot in some ways from person to person as we are all built differently and our bodies are at different stages, disease states, being stressed from varying angles, ect. One common theme among almost everyone though is that nutrition truly is the foundation to healing and optimal wellness. Eat to nourish the body, and support all functions within. Food is fuel. Food is life, energy, the key to thriving, healing, performance, nutrients and much more. Nutrients are like little building blocks for our bodies. There are macronutrients (carbohydrate, fat, protein) and micronutrients (vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals, antioxidants) which all serve specific functions for our body to maintain health and homeostasis. I could get into so much detail here that this post would go on for DAYYYYS, which nobody wants to read a mile long post so I’m not going there here.

Of equal important is sleep/rest and also daily movement. Sleep and rest allow your body to “rest and digest”. When at rest the parasympathetic nervous system, part of the autonomic nervous system, takes control. Just stop and think about that for a minute, your body has the ability programmed within to digest, grow, build, and heal. It’s pretty remarkable if you ask me. When I was in treatment back in 2012/2013, did I want to take almost a year off from the gym? I loved it, it was and still is my second home. It’s a playground for me. No, I didn’t want to give that up because it felt like I was letting go. However what I found was when I gave my body the rest it needed to heal, I felt better. I began healing. For me rest is just as much psychological as it is physiological. Like all else it is a skill because sometimes we are so caught up that we can’t even feel our own breath. Daily movement is also critical because it keeps you limber/mobile, overall healthier, and personally I feel better when I walk more throughout the day… My mood is elevated, I’m more awake and alert, and overall I think I’m a more lively person.

I believe the body is one. It’s all connected. I believe gut health is essential, as is mental/emotional wellbeing. Stress management is either a powerful tool within your arsenal or a driving factor in chronic inflammation which can lead to a plethora of physiological and/or psychological issues. Day to day habits can create strength or create weakness. I believe that we are all different and with all the information being thrown left and right at us we need to hold the capability to filter it through our own lenses, apply the helpful tidbits and ditch the rest… extra information isn’t always useful, sometimes it’s stressful.

I define healing as doing everything within your power to create change within your body that results in feeling better. Ultimately, feeling like you can take on your world. That’s my goal.

Remember that treating your body with respect and healing are both extreme challenges. They usually require effort and focus beyond what we are comfortable with. It’s easy to turn a blind eye and pretend all is ok, but eventually your body can’t make up anymore and there you are confronted with a decision, keep going or change and learn.

Questions:

What is one thing you do daily to make sure you feel your best?

How do you define healing?

nothing-ever-goes-away Source

xo, S

Leave a Reply

