Current favorites // 10.6.15

Good morning! I hope everyone is having a good start to their week. It’s feeling a lot like fall (as it should be) here in NH and I’m all about it. Summer and fall are my favorite seasons by far and to be honest I’m not sure I could go without them. Things to consider when thinking about where I want to end up after my undergrad. I also need mountains and water (preferably a lake and rivers). Suggestions for future living options welcome.

Anyways, lets stop discussing my future location goals and get onto talking about things that I’m just digging in general lately. I almost named this post “fall favorites” but I thought that was a little over the top considering some of these things have absolutely nothing to do with the time of year.

Tiny apples + apple picking // Literally one of my favorite activities. It’s such a good reason to get outside and makes things start to feel slightly festive, which I dig. Every time I go though I have this fear of being stung by a bee, which I thank the following story for: when I was four I had gone over to a friend’s house for her birthday and to go apple picking in her back yard (side note: how sick is that?) and while in the process of retrieving all the apples on the planet I managed to get some yellow jackets into my pants because they were probably like colorful checkered corduroy (read: they were colorful checkered corduroy, say that ten times fast) and therefore attractive to little critters. Anywayssssss, I managed to end up with like 4-5 of my first bee stings. Uh hello traumatic. I’m terrified of them to this day.

11925731_412913345561630_1649900199_n

Thankfully I still dig the apples.

Badger Balm Poetic Pomegranate lip balm // First off, how adorable is that name, “poetic pomegranate”? Second, it works like a charm. Third, it’s made in good ol’ New Hampshire.

Scarves // I might potentially have a bit of an obsession with scarves? I think it’s ok. It could be a lot worse. Who else has a thing for scarves? I’m all able the circle/infinity ones as of late, they are just super simple.

IMG_5069 

Zum Mist // Zum what? Also known as Frankincense + Myrrh. Also known as heaven. This stuff is strong so a little goes a long way. I’m talking one spray will take you through the entire day no problem.

IMG_5067

If you want to smell like an incense, buy this.

Oatmeal + raspberries + cinnamon // hello uhm my new favorite combination. I added some vanilla protein and a little nutmeg to this also and it’s the bomb if I do say so myself. It’s warm and yummy and did I mention warm?

IMG_5053

Epic Bar’s Chicken Sriracha flavor // We all know I’m a lover of quick, easy, and tasty snack options. Usually perfect bars are my go to here but I’m recently hooked on the Epic Bar’s and love that they are made with such a simple ingredient list. I especially enjoy the looks I get at school when I start eating a bar of chicken in class. It’s better than a can of tuna, which yes that has happened. #sorrynotsorry

Coloring // So I’m not sure how I missed that fact that adult coloring books are a thing these days but apparently they are popular. At least Barnes & Noble thinks so because I went in there to check out a book and they had tables (yes, plural) of them. I obviously wanted in. Most definitely my number one buy in forever. I’m already in love because it is such a stress reducing strategy because I think of nothing else. Working wonders on that whole anxiety thing of mine. I posted this on instagram and one of my friends even went out and bought her own after seeing it!!

IMG_5065

Do yourself a favor: get a coloring book and go to town.

That about sums up the little things making me smile lately. Simple but simplicity is key. I’m having a slow morning and my aunt is in town, then school stuff and teaching my group class later. Tomorrow I’m going to test out my one-rep max’s, so we will see how that goes. One thing is for sure, I’ll be getting enough sleep tonight and consuming all the coffee and breakfast tomorrow morning. Whether or not that will help me I’m not sure, sometimes it seems to and other times I just want to sleep on the bench instead of actually benching… if only this worked. I’ll keep you guys posted on how that goes!

 

Questions:

1. Do you have a coloring book? You knew this question was coming for ya…

2. Worst bee sting experience?

 

“Go and do the things you can’t. That is how you get to do them.” – Pablo Picasso

6 thoughts on “Current favorites // 10.6.15

  1. The adult coloring books are so fun. I saw a few at Costco on Sunday and I really wanted one but they didn’t sell markers or crayons for it and I kinda need those too (at least fresh adult ones). I’ve had a few coloring books even before they were so cool, the mandala ones, and it does relax you.

    Apples are so delicious and healthy for the Fall. They don’t grow here but now I really want some 🙂

    • Definitely get one! I’ve just been using colored pencils I have from high school which you can get so many endless color options! The mandala ones are awesome, I want one of the bigger ones but figured I’d get a cheap small one first to make sure I actually follow through and keep with it haha.

      I’ll mail you some local apples 😉

  2. Yes to coloring! It’s the best, as we have discussed!! Love the little apples. So cute and full of flavor. I’m going to be on the lookout for the poetic pomegranate lip balm! Sounds awesome 🙂

  3. Pingback: Life ramblings // fitness + nutrition talk | The Pursuit of an Outlier

  4. Scarves! Haha…I haven’t been able to wear a sweater in months thanks to the wonderful weather of good ol’ LA 😉
    That coloring book sounds exactly what I need after a long day in lab 😛

    • All the scarves! While I think the weather over there would be nice for a while, I definitely can’t give up my New England roots quite yet haha! YESSSSS get yourself a coloring book girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

