A few of my favorite things – May edition

Hi guys! What’s up? I hope this post title made you think of this:

I literally can’t believe it’s already the middle of May. Like, oh hey hello when did that happen?!

Good news #1 is that it’s going to be in the 70’s next week (squee!). We had a handful of 70-90 degree days here in NH back in April and boy was that a teaser. I live for the summer weather. Both because I can do the whole #nopantsarethebestpants thing daily (those of you who know me in “real life” know I would kill to wear shorts daily year long) but also I feel so much better physically when it’s warmer.

img_0097

Exhibit A. For the record, I do have shorts on.

Good news #2 is that I’m done classes and just have two final exams on Monday until the spring semester can be checked off the list. YASSSSSS.

Mixed feels news #1 I have a total of six. SIX. 6 days off from school. I’m taking four classes over the summer. Cognitive psychology, child development, abnormal psychology, and sports & performance psychology (beyond stoked for this one!).

No bad news. Yippee.

Onto some of my favorite things. 1, 2, 3, lets go!

Pacifica

I’ve always been a fan of the Pacifica roller-ball perfume (particularly lilac) and am seriously digging their other products.

IMG_1128

BB cream. Base coat. Mascara.

All possible turmeric things

Like c’mon Sarah, take a chill pill before you turn orange. I’ve actually done that before… turn orange… there was a period in my life where I ate too many sweet potatoes. I still ride a fine line between pale and orange but seem to be succeeding at not rocking the fake tan look as of late. Winning.

IMG_1120

Told you, I’m a BIG fan.

Oil pulling

I used to be quite into this but fell off the bandwagon. Recently I’ve rekindled my love for swishing coconut oil around my mouth most mornings. Check out this mini guide if you want to see what all the hype is about.

IMG_1129

Beet chips

Specifically dehydrated beets. That’s it. Trader Joe’s has them – “just beets“. They are pure gold… if you like beets that is. Otherwise, they likely taste like the ground. A friend of mine who doesn’t like beets tried them and couldn’t finish the bite haha.

IMG_0725

On top of Mt. Moosilauke, noshin’ on a beet chip 😉

Meditation

My brain is a fan. I’ve mainly been using the Calm app.

IMG_1103

Creative juice

I like to put a small dot on my wrist or temples, or in my diffuser. You can also check out my nails… I’ve been on quite the kick of doing three fingers one color and two fingers another. Variety is the spice of life?

IMG_1133

That’s the list I’m coming up with. So far I’m digging this month – summer is around the corner, I’m getting closer to being able to hike and deadlift again, and there are some new things on the horizon job wise!

I’ll be back with another post sometime next week between Spring semester ending and summer starting 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend!

“When you go out into the woods and you look at trees, you see all these different trees. And some of them are bent, and some of them are straight, and some of them are evergreens, and some of them are whatever. And you look at the tree and you allow it. You see why it is the way it is. You sort of understand that it didn’t get enough light, and so it turned that way. And you don’t get all emotional about it. You just allow it. You appreciate the tree. The minute you get near humans, you lose all that. And you are constantly saying, ‘You’re too this, or I’m too this.’ That judging mind comes in. And so I practice turning people into trees. Which means appreciating them just the way they are.” – Ram Dass

2 thoughts on “A few of my favorite things – May edition

  1. Pingback: Prioritize your needs | The Pursuit of an Outlier

  2. SO many awesome things in this post!! Okay, so I’ve always wanted to try oil pulling. I am into all things oral care! I just bought activated coconut charcoal powder, and I’m super pumped to use it for teeth whitening!!

    Also, I need to try some Pacifica products! They sound awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

